Second Stop: Clay

Starting out as the French Tennis Championship, the French Open, aka Roland Garros, was first played at the Paris Tennis Club in 1891. It became the first ‘open’ tournament in 1968 when it allowed matches between professional players and amateurs. Held at Roland Garros Stadium since 1928, the French Open is at the moment the only Grand Slam tournament played on clay courts. The second Grand Slam of the year following the Australian Open in January, the French Open culminated last year in a happy ending for Rafael Nadal in the men’s and Maria Sharapova in the women’s. The tournament prize is around 18 million dollars.

Only French Winner

Yannick Noah, with his victory in 1983, has the distinction of being the first and only French tennis player to win the French Open

The last 8 winners of the french open in the men’s and women’s singles:

%50 Only one Grand Slam

%30 Career Grand Slam

%15 2 Grand Slams

%05 3 Grand Slams