Skip to main content


At Turkish Airlines, our unrivaled catering service is there to meet the requirements of passengers who request special meal services for health, religious, or nutrition reasons, and for infants and children.

Special meal options
Food type Explanation
Asian vegetarian meal (AVML) Does not contain meat or meat derivatives including poultry, animal fat, eggs, or fish. Contains some or all of: dairy products, pulses, vegetables, dried fruit and nuts which are rich in iron and calcium
Hindu meal (HNML): Non-vegetarian meal that does not include beef*
Does not contain beef, veal, or raw or smoked fish products. Contains some or all of: lamb, poultry, fish, dairy products, and curried and spiced foods
Raw vegetable meal (RVML) Does not contain caffeine products, processed food additives, or preservatives. Contains some or all of: raw fruit, raw vegetables, and fresh fruit juice
Baby meal (BBML) Does not contain meat with bones, spicy foods, wheat, gluten, fish, eggs, acidic fruit or beef. Contains some or all of: fruit, vegetables, meat puree, and dessert
Kosher meal (KSML) Prepared in accordance with Jewish dietary requirements and traditions
Bland meal (BLML) Does not include spices, black or red pepper condiments, gas-producing vegetables like cauliflower and zucchini, caffeine products, or fried foods. Served with caffeine-free tea and coffee
Low calorie meal (LCML) Does not contain fried, fatty, or sugary food, or sauces and dressings. Contains some or all of: lean meat and dairy products, fresh fruit and vegetables, grains, and sweeteners
Strict vegan meal (VGML) Does not contain animal products (meat and meat derivatives such as honey, eggs, dairy products, fish, poultry). Contains some or all of: high-protein foods like lentils, tofu, beans, vegetables, fresh fruit, dried fruit, and nuts which are rich in iron and calcium
Child meal (CHML) Does not contain fish or meat with bones, dried fruit, nuts, seeds, spicy foods, dressings, and sauces, or boiled sweets (hard candy). Contains some or all of: grated carrot, cheese, crackers, finger food, fresh fruit, and fruit juice
Low fat food (LFML) Does not contain fried or oily food, cream and cheese based sauces, egg yolk and offal, seafood, fish roe, caviar, processed foods, or additives. Contains some or all of: lean meat, skinned poultry, fresh fruit and vegetables, whole grain bread, and low fat dairy products, dressings, or sauces
Jain – Vegetarian Hindu meal (VJML) Does not contain poultry, meat, fish, seafood, eggs, dairy products, root vegetables, and vegetables from the onion family. Contains some or all of: fruit, vegetables, spices, tofu, pulses, rice, and grains
Diabetic meal (DBML) Does not include fried food. Contains some or all of: fat-free meat and dairy products, skinned poultry, fish and seafood products, vegetables, fruit, whole grain bread, and other grains
Low salt meal (LSML) Does not contain salted or smoked foods, anchovies, olives, processed cheese, baking products such as self-raising flour and baking powder, bouillon, and food prepared with dressings or sauces. Contains some or all of: salt-free margarine, low salt breakfast products, low salt cheese, garlic, onion, and celery
Lacto-ovo vegetarian meal (VLML) Does not contain meat and meat derivatives, fish, and poultry. Contains some or all of: high protein dairy products, eggs, vegetarian cheese, and vegetables, fruit, and pulses which are rich in iron and calcium
Fruit meal (FPML) Does not contain preservatives or additives. Contains fresh fruit or sulfite-free dried fruit
Vegetarian oriental meal (VOML) Does not contain meat, poultry, fish, seafood, egg, and dairy products. Contains fruit, vegetables, and spices
Gluten-free meal (GFML) Does not contain wheat, wheat flour, caviar, oats, barley, pasta, bread, breadsticks, pastry, cakes, pastries, crisp breads containing gluten, cream, meat-flavored additives, dried fruit and nuts, malt products, and chocolate containing gluten. Contains some or all of: fresh fruit and vegetables, puffed rice, gluten-free crisp breads, soya milk, potatoes, soya and rice flour, dairy products, sago, and oil
Low-lactose meal (NLML) Does not contain milk, yoghurt, cheese, egg, ice cream, butter, biscuits, cakes, creamed or breaded vegetables and meat, omelets, crepes, instant soups, instant coffee, chocolate, and bread containing dairy products. Contains some or all of: meat, poultry, fresh vegetables, lactose-free fruit, milk-substitute soya drinks, and non-dairy coffee cream
All foods served on Turkish Airlines flights are Muslim meals and prepared according to Islamic custom.
Passengers making special meal requests must have these processed on their reservations at least 24 hours before their flight. Passengers with allergies must indicate these with a medical report.
There are some differences on the menus served to passengers in Economy and Business Class. Dining on board >>
Since we cannot guarantee that any of our flights are allergen-free, we cannot take responsibility for any allergic reactions’ passengers may have. Passengers with allergies to particular foodstuffs need to submit special meal requests with a medical report.

To the attention of our passengers with peanut and hazelnut allergy 

Severe allergic reactions, although rare in flight must be considered in advance. If you have a specific allergy (such as a food allergy, nut allergy or peanut allergy) that you know of, please consult your doctor and evaluate travel risks before your trip. 

If you are prone to any serious allergic reactions caused by the consumption of nuts, foodstuffs and any derivatives in your surroundings, have your doctor's report, epinephrine/adrenaline auto-injector prescribed by your doctor, and any other medicines with you in your hand baggage. You must have your prescription for the auto-injector and doctor’s report with you to ensure that you do not have problems passing through the airport security and make sure to check any precautions that must be taken before the flight. Passengers who have severe nut and peanut allergies, that are not carrying a doctor’s report with them, may not be admitted to the flight for flight security purposes. 

If you have nut and peanut allergies, you should inform the cabin crew of your allergies in case an emergency may arise, and show your medication and doctor's note that states what needs to be done in case of emergency. Our cabin crew is trained in first aid, but if you have a serious allergy we also advise you to travel with a relative that can help you. 

The meals and treats served on our flights may include hazelnuts, or peanuts and other foodstuffs. If passengers with hazelnut and peanut allergies state their allergies via Turkish Airlines sales channels up to 48 hours before their flight, food with allergy-inducing ingredients will not be taken on board. However, we cannot guarantee that other passengers will not bring foodstuffs containing nuts and nut particles may spread in the aircraft during the flight through the air conditioning system. 

Despite the precautions taken on your flight, we cannot accept any responsibility for any allergic reactions that may occur as we cannot ensure our aircraft is free of nuts such as hazelnuts and peanuts.

Special Meals